I Can Be

I can be
the syllables
that
define your
simplest
poetry,
or
the crooked lines
that
draw up the
notes,
dimensions,
and
chromosomes
that
toughen
up
your realness.
I can
also
be
the crawly
things
that
make you
sweat
without
stopping
for a
second look,
or
perhaps
I can
be
a life
for you, with
only your
smile
pressed
into the crevices
of
my heart.
See,
what
I can be
are
all the things
that
I
get to see
in
the
depth
of
your
eyes,
the poetry
on
your skin,
and
the
reflection
of
our life
in
such beautiful
Technicolor.

I can be
because
you
are.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

