If You Were Here

If you
were
here,
I would
smile
like
no one
cares,
and jump
from
this
wall
to that
cliff
and back,
like
a cat
does
after the
moon
has
set
strongly
in
its
place
for the
night.

If you
were
here,
I would
carry both
of
our thoughts
to
that place,
and
give you
a simpler
more
calm
approach
to loving
me.

If you
were
here,
I wouldn’t
have
to
stare into
empty
space,
since
the
nudge
from
your hands
would
keep
me
just
satisfied.

M.C. Davis

One thought on “If You Were Here

  1. The vulnerability in this piece is so cushioning and so beautiful. I love when you submit yourself completely to freefall writing.
    Love it!

Leave a Reply

