Needn’t I Remind You

If we
started
a
moonlit
dance,
I shouldn’t
have
to remind
you
to close
the
curtains
to the
night
and the
world,
or a
small
allowance
of light
to
peer
into our
last
stride.

If the
sun
gazes
back at
us, I
shouldn’t
have to
remind
you to make
room
for
the dark
moon’s
wise
words,
or the
noise
of
yesterday’s
steps
that brought
us
to today’s
steps.

Finally,
if I
ask you
to
tell me
why
I love
you,
I shouldn’t
have
to remind
you
to
speak
with
the same
lips
you use
to
kiss
away my
deepest
of pain.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

