Coming To Terms

So, I’ve been doing some thinking.

Let me be honest, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking.

For one, I need to finish this Greyhound book.  Secondly, I need to really finish this Greyhound book.

Even as I type this blog entry, my mind is scattered into a million directions. The TV is staring me down, Sammy-dog is quietly waiting for my next move, and a social schedule that will require my attendance is looming in the hours to come.

A scattered mind does not a goal make.

To boot, I’ve yet to write down a single word or syllable in my book today, or yesterday, or the day before yesterday.

So, I have to come to terms and realize what’s important for the nowness in my life. As it seems in this day and age, it can be very difficult to come to terms in an effort to make sure one’s mind stays clear and ready for the next phase. Often, we give up slow pieces of our dream for the greater good of what we think we should have in life.

I’ve learned that sometimes what we think we need may often be misaligned with the things in life we give us the most power.

More to come on this grand self observation.

M.C. Davis

8 thoughts on “Coming To Terms

  1. What’s important for the “nowness” in our lives is to work toward a final goal. You hint that your goal, as you understand it right now, is changing. Our specific material goals will always be changing somewhat, due to changes (good and bad) in our circumstances, but we need an overarching spiritual goal in order to give our life meaning. This spiritual goal should, although over arching, should be extremely specific. Otherwise, if we live a life aiming at some hazy truth, the result will be hazy and not clearly defined as well.

    • Daniel…well said! Yes, the nowness in our lives is completely powered from our intrinsic nature in how we perceive that “final goal” you spoke of. Thank you for your insight and perspective. I really appreciate it!

      M.C. Davis

      • So then… If I may be so bold as to ask: what is the way you perceive this final goal that completely powers the nowness of your life through your intrinsic nature? Or to put it more simply, what is your final spiritual goal?

      • What an excellent question.

        The short answer is this:

        I simply want to be clear.

        And to be honest, I don’t truly believe that there is a final spiritual goal. Spirituality, as with most things in life that trigger us, simply exists through and within the many layers that make us who we are. In other words, my spiritual goal is simply to be able to intrinsically appreciate the core of who I am. At times, I don’t feel like I’m quite there yet…

        I hope that helps.

        M.C. Davis

  2. Thanks for answering my questions. These are tough issues and they make the brain hurt sometimes (at least they do for me. Maybe that’s just from staring at the computer all day). But I believe that they are important questions, which is why I start with a lead off and follow it up with another one, and another one, and another one. I feel I should be honest enough to tell you ahead of time that I’m going to keep up the discussion until we get somewhere, or until you’ve told me you’ve had enough.

    In the meantime, if you feel like turning the tables on me, you can start asking me the questions instead of answering. That works too, but I’m not going to walk away from this discussion on my own as long as you remain friendly and keep acting like you really want to talk about this stuff.

  3. Alright, so the overarching “goal” that you admit to is to “intrinsically appreciate the core of who I am.” This is the purpose you give for your existence.

    Well, you can probably see where this is headed. Now I have to ask you the following. “Who are you?”

  4. Often enough, the “nowness” of life overlaps the “hereness” of life and so one becomes overly slighted. It’s imperative to live in the symmetry of them both and without that balance, there will always be misalignment. I know this all too well as I constantly find myself tripping over the neglected fragments & bits I fail to pay attention to while wandering aimlessly.

    You already know on which road you wish to travel; now all you need is focus.
    But you knew already because you’re a wise man.
    now go 4ward…how can you not with the vision you got.

    • Now, you’ve done it! You’ve actually made me realize once again why love has so many delicate colors to choose from. You’ve also made me realize how important the days are when you can–usually at the same time–sit back and watch things around you grow. What I’m getting at is Tiff, you’re as beautiful as the night sky, and as wise as all the combined colors of a autumn day in Maine.

      See, what I’ve learned from your words is simple: a baby learns to walk because it sees in itself the potential for change in every step.

      Thank you Tiff for making this old soul walk again.

      M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

