I Was There

We
fell in love
back in the
summer
of ’63,
back when
this
poet only
existed in
skin fragments
and concepts,
but in
the third degree.
I jumped
right
in with
both feet
and without
testing the dampness
of the
water, or the
neatness
of the ruffled
sheets.
See, this poet
made his
way
to the
top of the
line and spat
confident words,
so back
in the summer
of ’63,
we danced
our way
into ’64
and became friends
before lovers
and our family
began
to multiply
like a strong
scent
from a woman’s
fragrance.
So, even if I
only
existed in
concepts
and microscope
chart, I was there.
And, even if
my
name never
made
it
through
guttural channel
ways, I was
there.
And, if you
really haven’t
heard
this poet, remember
that even
if my name
was never
etched in
tu corazon”,
I was there.
When
we fell in love
back in the
summer
of ’63, we became
like flowers
do in the
traffic
of a rainy day’s
wind
currents.

M.C. Davis

2 thoughts on “I Was There

  1. I was caught off guard with this one!! One does enter love without really knowing, just like a calendar year that you never lived. It is in these years, that all becomes really clear, these lived years that love has given,are just like the next calendar year whether or not you live that year – you were there.

    • To be honest, the summer of any year is a summer we’ve all lived, no matter where our lives have physically taken us. This poem simply states that love and our connection to it will always exist, even as we think otherwise at times.

      I’m glad your ears are perked.

      M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

