And Then There Was Us

Pic

Dust
has gathered
on the
brown
table, and I’m
swayed to
believe
that
we once
stood tall
like those
Redwoods,
and without
that
fear of
tomorrow. We
used
to dance
lazily
in the sun,
but you
outpaced
me and
I
fell short. You
made
me think
twice
about us,
and in doing
so, I found
you
not calibrating
my
movements.

Yes, the
days
are closer
than we
think,
and I’m
just starting
to see
us for us.

M.C. Davis

One thought on “And Then There Was Us

  1. All I have to say is “WOW”!! So many meanings intertwined!!!!

Leave a Reply

