Greyhound Dreams

Mike_Vogue

It’s official.

I’m scheduling my long-awaited bus trip across the country.

I’m doing this for several reasons actually. One of which is truly to find that part of myself that’s been lost within myself for some time now. Now, if anyone knows me, I’m on a constant pursuit of this imaginary person that exists inside of me but this time, and probably this time only, I’m going to ask this guy to come along for the ride. He’ll stand real close but not too close to get in the way, but not too far to make me yell at him during an intense time of need.

He’ll stand with me throughout the tough questions I’ll ask of myself, and he’ll walk tall during the after decisions that’ll propell me forward and with more confidence. He’ll also ask of me to ‘shut the hell up’ during those times where my advice isn’t warranted, and he’ll equally chastise me for not speaking up when my words will actually make an  impact. He’ll also carry me ‘to that place’ when I need to lessen my load, and drop me when I need a reminder to be human. In my words, he’ll give back to myself a sense of why I started writing in the first place.

I think we’ll both love it.

So, the month of November will be spent almost entirely on a Greyhound bus with only a few items to keep me socially clean, a laptop that durable enough to survive a windstorm, and enough common sense to know that not everyone wants to be bothered in the middle of a midnight bus ride about their life happenings and the such.

I suppose I’ll just wait until the morning to ask those kinds of questions.

M.C. Davis

2 thoughts on “Greyhound Dreams

  1. Awesome. I can’t wait to read the stories, better yet, I will feel included in your journey. Write on!!!

  2. Amazing bro. I too am excited to hear the stories. Be free!

Leave a Reply

