Wide Open Spaces

Often, we’re left with one single road, and usually a little dusty.

This month has been especially trying and although I really have nothing to complain about, I’ve found myself in a series of very important life questions.

Am I where I’m supposed to be?
Do I have everything it takes to tackle the future?
What happened to this year and why isn’t my book of poetry finished?

As I stumble through these questions and others, I find myself milking into other questions that ultimately lead me down an endless road of other fruit-filled questions. In a sense, I’m bombarded with an awareness of who and where I am, but without any of the succinct details of who I am.

This is quite the quandary at times.

I know for most of my friends, seeing me as a human is quite revealing, but the truth of the matter is that I’ve always been human. In other words, I do bleed when there’s a mess inside of my soul. There are scary times ahead and I actually welcome them with open arms.

In these wide open spaces.

I’m open to the idea of failing because in this awesome sense of my growth, I’m spiraling upwards to a place where I can be touched and revealed.

This is positive growth like no other.

I read once that a very important trait of a positive communication path always involves the notion that each person involved in a discourse simply wants to be heard, vice spoken to.

I think I’m hearing myself for the first time in centuries.

This, I’m learning.

M.C. Davis

3 thoughts on “Wide Open Spaces

  1. 1. yes
    2. of course
    3. i have no clue. but you sound positive and every hindrance is for good, we just can not always be aware of the whys.
    good luck, you surely have it..

  2. a dirty, dusty road to bleed on… Is there any other way to journey???

    • Cindy…why yes there is! Often, and usually to no fault of our own, we’re left with only a few choices to make. Many of which involve only a few options, which typically leaves us feeling like we’re back at square one.

      This feeling only changes when we choose for it to change. Does it matter how it feels just so as long as we indeed feel something?

      M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

