I Take Care Of My Kids!

photo2

Sunny
days take
center
stage
as she cries
out
to the
world that
she
“takes care
of her kids”
but
the street
noise
and those
dudes
with Kangols
and leather
man-purses
caught him
first.

The
neighborhood
dims
and
closes
its
eyes
as her hand
tightens, twists,
and grabs
at what’s
left
of her
youth.
“I take
care of
my kids”
she etches
in her diary,
but who’s
taking
care of
you I
have to
ask.

Report
cards
flutter the
mailbox
and
PTA meetings
come and go
and still,
he’s crossing
the street
to
those ones
who
give him
the instant
gratification
you’ve seemed
the have
lost
during
his fluent
years.

M.C. Davis

One thought on “I Take Care Of My Kids!

  1. freakin brilliant!!!

    across the great divide, there lies the border that challenges a mothers effortless attempts.

Leave a Reply

