A Nice Chill To The Day

So, it appears that the weather that I’ve lived through in Maine has finally made a comeback in DC.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love the cold weather and even enjoy playing in it at times, but the wind, well, let me tell you, is quite the difference.

For one, it make the whole experience of enjoying the day to a point of being miserable. Walking against the cold wind, then wondering why the heck is Mickey D’s so important that you’re willing to walk to it in the blistering wind, makes you question your own sanity. And to boot, why isn’t anyone talking about global warning anymore? The record-low temps in NYC and of course, the -40 temps in MN has got to stir some feathers eh?

But, I digress.

My friends Chris and his wife Bree are coming down to DC today to crash on the pull-out. The Inauguration, which will most likely change the climate of this small city, is scheduled for Tuesday and with any luck, I’ll have the opportunity to take part in a few local festivities. Of course, Mr. Obama being my boss and all, I think I’m the luckiest citizen amongst the 4 to 5 millions people expected to come. In either case, I’m looking forward to it–not the wind and cold weather of course–but the glory of a new time in history, with a new social awareness of our country is by far the greatest joy of what’s to come. So, wish us luck as we figure out the best route to traverse in the sea of people on Tuesday, and if this blog goes dormant for a few weeks, just assume that my life ended in some mass riot on the Washington Mall.

Other than the usual, life is grand this time of year. Started GWU’s Project Management course and very much looking forward to the work. It’s such a small world that even a buddy of mine from Maine is in the online version of the class.

(Yeah, I gotta keep my nose clean now-a-days…)

Planning a trip to Seattle next month to visit a few friends and can’t wait to experience the crazy lives they live out there. Sometimes I wonder if I ever have to travel anywhere to experience any difference in whom I’ve become, but quickly I realize that there’s so much joy in seeing yourself scattered across the globe.

Yes, the mirror doesn’t break too often.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

