Throwing Dimes

If I
had a dime
for each
time you
spoke
of love,
and the moments
of intimacy
cornered so
slightly
in between
our sheets,
I would
be half-way
to stardom.

If I
had a
dime for each
time you
woke me up
with
your kisses
and smooth
layers
of memories
that dance
without frailties,
I would
be ten times
the
size of Mr. Gates.

What I
mean to say
is that
what you give
is far worth
the measure
of the time
I’m here,
and a million
dimes times
infinity
are simply
pebbles
to the nature
of how
you impress
me.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

