If

If I stared at
you,
would you
follow my every
move
or tell me
to play notes
like
Old Man Dizzy,
or last year
when we
walked to the moon
and you
whispered
sweet somethings
that made me swirl.

If I gazed through
you, would
you find my hands
within
yours, or at least
find solace
in the fact that
two peas
deserve only one
pod, like
the time
we spoke in French
and the world
fell silent.

And if
I walked next
to you, would
you slow your pace
so I could dance
around you, or
make me
fall deeper
in love with you
by only
showing me
what I’ve already
known.

And lastly,
if I sang
to you, would you
join in harmony
and make a joyful
noise like
they do in the Bible,
and if
our days lingered,
I’m sure
you’d find
me
next to
you
waiting for
your next
smile.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

