If And When

If and when
we decide
to move from
here to there,
I’ll keep you informed
with regular
updates, and
a file for
your records;
like the time
we danced
until the moon
became the
sun, and the sun
later dismissed
us as
school children
playing
in loose
gravel.

Oh yes, and if
and when
we decide to
take on the
world by storm,
I’ll be the first to
let the right
people know,
so at least
they’ll
spell your name
in the right
context.

And finally,
if and when we decide
to fall in
love, I’ll keep you
close like lima beans
in a strong soup,
or like the
moment you looked
at me cautiously,
as I
closed my eyes
like the
night does
in that 24-hour
bracket called
time.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

