Statement Of Purpose

So, there I was, minding my own business when suddenly, I was asked a question:

Define your statement of purpose?

At first, I thought, what the heck? I can do this. I’m a writer and in most cases, I’m pretty aware of the thin line between bull and reality. However, in this case, a graduate school application from George Washington University was asking this very important question, which changed the tone of not only my response, but also my expectations.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a fierce writing challenge like the most of ’em, but for once in my life, I felt the sting of not being fully prepared or entirely aware of what my worth. For the first time in my life, I felt like the outcome of my statement would ultimately create a new stir in me….that perhaps might feel good. So, after the statement was written, in addition to the several layers of the application, I found myself in a slight quandary.

What truly is my worth? Do Am I owning up to my personal life statement?

Although the original question was geared towards a graduate school application, I don’t think I’m done putting some serious analysis to the thought of my worth and internal expectations. Of course, this type of question has been kicked around for years but for once, I’m taking it much more seriously.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

