Know Thy Neighbors!

…well, sometimes you don’t have any choice.

This workweek has been quite relaxing and even to the point of being enjoyable, but this weekend, when I met most of the coolest characters on the block, the world I’ve been used to for these odd 31 years seemed to stop in its track. Of course, with a little wine, champage, and other spirits you might be able to find a coolness in any crowd. In either case, meeting my power neighborshas given me renewed hope in a even greater concept…a listserv!

Speaking of neighbors, the work environment, for what it’s worth, has been a fun time as well! The people in the office resemble Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the Fourth of July rolled into one absolute minute of how work is supposed to be. I’m confined to a space of “busy work” until most of my paperwork is cleared but for now, I’m enjoying the freedom and independence to be my own man since I’m sure once the last signature is crafted, I’ll be the busiest mo-fo on the block.

And finally, the days of walking around aimlessly has ended. In certain aspects of the day, I would lose track of what I was doing–even though most of the time it was supposed to be nothing–but in either case, I had to come up with a plan to keep track of the things that I was supposed to be doing vice what I was in fact doing.

So, I bought an organizer! Isn’t that so 1990’s?

Well. to be honest, I bought an organizer a while ago but I am now using it and it’s literally changed my complete way of thinking. So, what the heck? A blackberry is one thing, but having it in black and white staring at you, there is nothing you can do but doing the thing it’s asking you to do.

Like, getting a job.

So, on that note, I’m outta here for now.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

