The Saddest Hello…

Yesterday was my official last day in Maine.

I cleared my desk at work, gave everyone I knew my new business card, and drove off the base. I didn’t even get a chance to tell everyone good-bye and I’m sure my backside will pay dearly for it one day. The gang at 20 West threw a surprise party for me and it blew my mind. I think at that point in time, the realization of my family at 20 West struck me. For moment or so, I wanted to collapse in pure pleasure in knowing that my life, with all my friends, has been the biggest joy in my life. The connection, the emotional understandings, and of course the love between my friends by far has given me so much that even I am in awe of how lucky I am.

For the last few hours, I wanted to spend time with Russ because other than Troy and our cool and collected life together, Russ is the reason I wake up and thank God for the true friendships I have. We actually did something that we’ve not done in a while: we walked through Portland. Most times, we are either at Panera Bread, Uno’s Pizzeria, the Movies, or Border’s Books and Music. Years ago when we first started hanging out, we used to walk the town so it was nice to revisit those early days and the emotions that went along with them. We went to Margarita’s and had a good talk about some of the things that make us friends. It was nice; it felt good, and I liked the fact that Russ is my best friend. I love the fact that we communicate like brothers and even if nothing is said between us, there is plenty going on. So, after dinner we walked to his car, did the hug good-bye, then I walked into my house and gathered my things.

So, yes, leaving Maine and the people who have influenced my life was probably the saddest hello I’ve ever had to endure.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

