A Phone Conversation

A Phone Conversation Between Two Lovers

I need to hear that
you love me but
before you do so,
tell me what you think
about this suit,
but hold that thought
and tell me what plans
you have
for our future and if anything,
speak in poetic verse and
quietly dispell boring
myths of fatigue and infidelity.
When you’re done,
don’t stand too closely
or walk too fast
since my desires are
still water-drenched
and my need for
you is fresh,
and indifferent to
why we stand together.
Tell me why you
love me and don’t
quit until I
close my eyes.
Don’t forget
to lock the door on
when you leave.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

