Who?

Who?

There ain’t enough time
to make your favorite
soup, or think of
your diet, or rifle for my
own problems to help yours.
In fact, we just met yesteday
and I don’t think
we’re going to click like
butter beans and cornbread.
Like yesterday, you and I are forgotten,
in between
loose thoughts and half-chewed Now&Laters.
You’re tough to the touch,
and my wisdom
cautions me to stand too close;
if anything, you cause me
to shiver like uncontrolled wind.
What I mean to say
is your contagious and my
love for you grows in
a way unfamiliar
and to be honest,
I like the idea of
you near me.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

