And To All A Good Night…

…well, probably not in the same holiday jeer as Santa puts out.

The other day I was thinking about the joy that comes from giving and perhaps the hurt than usually come from not being able to give as much as one wants; or the fact that not everyone truly wants to give during this time of year. For my own reasons, I enjoy giving and I, like millions of other losers in this world, don’t give enough throughout the year to at least validate the giving towards the end of the year. In fact, I don’t think I’ve given a gift to anyone from a “just because” standpoint in a while, nor have I solidly put forth any effort to truly thank or recognize the kindness of others around me.

So, what can I do?

I could volunteer more, give more time and energy to loved ones, or start an event that sponsors the art of giving.  I do think however, that the noise of what I’m supposed to do with my time and energy might not subside to a simple charitable events.

I need to inhale the reason for giving so it becomes inclusive to how I think.  

I am indifferent to a certain degree and find these Holiday times as subtle reminders of how important it is to give but more importantly, how important it is to understand the world’s intrinsic value to giving. This is how I have learned to accept some of the measurable steps in giving while silently adapting to some of the more nondescript measures in giving.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

