Free At Last! Thank God Almighty I’m Free At Last!

…well, perhaps the good Doctor might have seen things differently since my freedom only exists on a small subliminal level and far from the stretches of Civil rights, or that old white building located at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave.

This week we finally bought, loaded, and presented the ‘ol Christmas tree. It’s a nice touch to our home and as I walk through the living room to the bathroom, I am reminded that this tree, for what it’s worth, further makes our house a home and I am extremely proud of that fact. Also, our Christmas party is this week-end and I’m mixed in between nerves and excitement about it happening, even though it has brought so much happiness to our home for several years now. I am looking forward to seeing my friends and of course, sharing stories and hearing about who did what with which item and with whom. I suppose I’m just proud of the fact that the simple joy of sharing is not only rewarding, but it provides a comfort for what we truly enjoy in ourselves.

Troy and I agreed that during my time in DC, he would write a Children’s story with all the characters he’s told me about for the past 6 1/2 years. It would be a great book for children with his zany and almost aloof imaginative characters. I think his imagination will explode with ideas, nuances, and crazy scenarios for each layer of his characters and if hopefully picked up, he’ll make a new step in a Troy that perhaps most don’t know. If anything, this idea will keep us in tune with our individual lives while we strategically make our disconnection effortless. I will miss him terribly but I know in the end, our life will make the most of this distance and overcome what we desperately fear the most.

Russ and I hung out last night and for the first time of many, I realized how lucky we were to be friends. I told him while we were sitting down eating fried chicken, steak tips, mashed potatoes, and cole slaw that our lives are true gifts and I’m very proud for what we have in each other, in addition to what we have in our families. Yuki is by far the best thing Russ has ever come close to with regards to a solid family connection–well, perhaps more tolerance than anything, but I think you get my drift. Troy, if anything, makes me feel like I have never been alone in the world because at this point in my life, I can’t recall ever not loving him or having him around. He’s a true best friend and I thank God that he has the patience and endurance to love me back.

Just finished the MSOL program and looking at PhD programs in Organization Leadership. Since my DC stint will provide some downtime, I think I might have the chance to knockout some more classes to finish out this long road of academia.  It feels extremely strange to be able to leave work then go home; or leave work, then organize my MP3 collection; or leave work, then work out; or better yet, leave work, then lay on the couch. This is probably the best feeling I’ve had in a while but I know the moment I sit for too long, the harder it will be to make amends in starting up again. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy my freedom while it lasts.

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

