Cyber Strangers…

Most of you may or may not know that my life will most likely always revolve around some type of educational process of some sort. Whether it be a class outside learning how to watercolor or a Calculus class that meets once a year for 10 minutes. It’s just who I am and I think the sane part of me loves the constant brain push but the crazier more insane part of me wants to just sit down and catch up on the new season of Law and Order.

Oh well…

It’s just a part of me that I will never fight, disagree, or intimidate because if anything, the fear of a 25-page dealing with Economic Theories or a group assignment detailing the strategies in curriculum development is at times very arousing.

Ok. Enough digression here.

So, I am currently in a MSOL program at Southern New Hampshire University and loving every bit of it. Most of my classmates I have grown with academically and for the most part, we all understand the rhythm of the academic institution and if anything, we all agree that the term professional student isn’t too far off from where we currently sit.

One part of this class is online while the other half is actually taught in a classroom. The other day, I received an email from a classmate that appeared to be a vent email. I read, then read some more…then realized that I neither knew this person nor had a clue as to what she was talking about.

So, what did I do?

I consoled her…but instead of telling her that I neither knew her or her situation, I carried on the conversation. So, for the past few days, we have carried on like old friends and she has yet to ask me anything specific that would at least provide some insight as to how she might have me confused with someone else.

So, the writer in me is starting to wake up because imagine strangers who meet only online and begin a friendship that leads to some eventual friendship?

(Oh, wait, that happens all the time…)

M.C. Davis

Leave a Reply

