Why I’m Here

Why I’m Here

I don’t stand too tall
nor do I speak like
Abraham nor do I walk
with jive and speed
like bumble hives on
a  warm sunny day
but I know why I’m here
and what I’m supposed to do.

I may not carry a tune with
sound of wisdom times faith
divided by square root of
some other number nor make the days
seem like ease on top of ease but
I do know why I am here and what
I am supposed to do.

 Like others, I may not grant
the kindest smile or extend my hands
with grace nor take the time to admire the
moon on crystal nights or make a mirror
of my image in your eyes but I know
why I’m here and what I am supposed to do. 

In other words, don’t clamor my style
by cutting short my worship and my attention
to what I am supposed to do because
my time as well as my heart doesn’t belong to you.

See, you tend to disagree for the sake
of disagreement but instead
let’s make your moment become our moment like
we used to do in the golden age?

When our minds were filled up like waterfalls
on a clear Sunday afternoon.

That’s why I am here and that is what I am supposed to do.

M. C. Davis 

Leave a Reply

